LGBTQ Elders in Residential Care Lecture

On ‪Salt Spring Island and wanting to learn more about the experiences of LGBTQ elders in residential care? Join us Sunday, Dec. 6 at the Harbour House Hotel (121 Upper Ganges Rd) at 2pm to hear from Lambda award-winner Dr. Ashley Heaslip on her research in this area. Tea and cookies will be provided. Free admittance, no registrationContinue reading “LGBTQ Elders in Residential Care Lecture”

Congratulations to Anne-Sophie Ruest-Paquette, University of Ottawa

Congratulations to Anne-Sophie Ruest-Paquette from the University of Ottawa, who’s our most recent Lambda winner! Anne-Sophie détient un baccalauréat en spécialisation musique et concentration théâtre ainsi qu’une maîtrise en éducation de l’Université d’Ottawa. Elle complète présentement un doctorat en cotutelle avec la Faculté d’éducation de l’Université d’Ottawa (sous la supervision de Nicholas Ng-A-Fook) et l’ÉcoleContinue reading “Congratulations to Anne-Sophie Ruest-Paquette, University of Ottawa”

Congratulations to Tara Chanady, Université de Montreal

Congratulations to Tara Chanady, a 2nd year PhD student in Communication at Université de Montreal, for winning the Foundation Lambda Bursary! “Under the direction of Professor Julianne Pidduck, my research focuses on how the changing media landscape comes into play in the definition, expression and performance of lesbian identities in Montreal. With the increase ofContinue reading “Congratulations to Tara Chanady, Université de Montreal”

Celebrating the Life of Professor Nicole LaViolette

Professor Nicole LaViolette, whose name graces our award at the University of Ottawa, has left Lambda a generous gift of $9,750, bringing the current total of the endowment to over $31,000. Nicole passed away in May after a very brave and determined struggle with cancer. She accomplished a great deal in the area of internationalContinue reading “Celebrating the Life of Professor Nicole LaViolette”

Co-Winners at Carleton Share the Gary Sealey Friends of Lambda Award

Two PhD students are sharing our newly named Gary Sealey Friends of Lambda Award for their innovative and bold research. They are Melanie Rickert in Anthropology and Charlotte Hoelke in Canadian Studies. It is the first time the Lambda award at Carleton has been presented under its new name. Melanie won the Lambda Award at Carleton a couple of years agoContinue reading “Co-Winners at Carleton Share the Gary Sealey Friends of Lambda Award”

Congratulations to Kirby Johnson, Laurentian University

The first recipient of the Grant Halle Lambda Foundation Award at Laurentian is Kirby Johnson, a second year Masters student in the Human Kinetics program who focuses on sports, including media coverage. He was particularly interested in the impact of Russia’s antigay law on all the LGBT people who performed at, or attended, the Sochi Olympics. KirbyContinue reading “Congratulations to Kirby Johnson, Laurentian University”

U of Manitoba award winner examines enforced gender identity norms on intersex people

Congratulations to Katelyn Dykstra Dykerman, a second-year PhD student in the Department of English, Film, and Theatre at The University of Manitoba and the current winner of Lambda’s Les McAfee Memorial Award. She tells us: “My current research engages questions regarding the eugenic treatment of LGBTI+ peoples but instead of focusing on historical eugenics, as IContinue reading “U of Manitoba award winner examines enforced gender identity norms on intersex people”